Some CSA Recipes (Slaw, Salad and Pie)

Juan and I have started getting our veggies and fruit (and CHEESE!!!) each week from a CSA. If you don’t know what a CSA is, it’s Community Supported Agriculture. We’ve subscribed to a local one here in Albany that brings food from many different family farms around the upstate New York region.  We decided to join the CSA so that we can try new things each week and experiment with cooking things we haven’t normally cooked and get some fun new things too.  So far so good….

Some things I’ve made thus far, and these recipes are done by me going around the internet, poking around and then putting things together in a way that made sense to me, I sort of mushed a few recipes together. The pie recipe is the one I always make and again its one I drew on a few others for….hope you enjoy making these as much as we have.  

 

 Kohlrabi and Apple Slaw

This was my finished product.

This was my finished product.

 

Ok, I had no idea what to do with the kohlrabi. But I figured it out.

Ingredients:

One whole kohlrabi, peeled and diced into matchsticks

Two apples (we had Pink Lady apples this week in the CSA bag) also peeled and diced into matchsticks

Dried cranberries—sprinkle as many or as few in as you want

 

Dice all the above up, throw it in a bowl raw and mix it up.

 

Dressing:

50/50 olive oil and lemon juice

Salt and Pepper to taste

Whisk it all together

 

Then dress the slaw up, as light or as heavy as you want. Eat!

Oh and the kohlrabi came with the leaves, etc.  I googled that and you can save the leaves and make an salad with those too.  I’m going to try that next so as not to waste.  Here’s the recipe I plan to try.  I’ll post how that goes…  

 

Beet and Goat Cheese Salad

My finished product.

My finished product.

Ingredients:

Beets (we had six beets of various sizes in the CSA bag, so I used all of them)

1/3 of a large log of goat cheese

Olive Oil

Red Wine Vinegar

Pecans

Salt

Pepper

 

  1. Take the beets, and put them in a pot and cover with water.  Scrub them off if they still have dirt on them as ours did from the farm.  Put some salt in the water and boil the beets for 20-30 min until they are tender. Boil them with the skin on. When done boiling run under cold water and peel by hand or with a peeler. Then cut up the beets however you want, sliced, diced, cubed—whatever strikes your fancy. Throw them in a bowl.
  1. Make the dressing: Put two tablespoons of red wine vinegar into a small bowl. Then slowly stream in 1/3 cup of olive oil, whisking it together to make an emulsion. Then I ground in salt and pepper to taste.
  1. Stir together the dressing and the beets in a bowl. Then I let it stand for two hours to marinate.
  1. Cut up the goat cheese, I used 1/3 of a big log, but you can use more, there is no judgment…. Then I cut up the pecans. I don’t know how many I used, I just eyeballed that. I threw the goat cheese and the pecans into the bowl and mixed it all together.

That’s it!

 

Apple-Cranberry Pie

Pie on the plate.  Flaky so it broke up some.  The pie has only been out of the oven a half hour and half is gone because Juan is obsessed with pie.

Pie on the plate. Flaky so it broke up some. The pie has only been out of the oven a half hour and half is gone because Juan is obsessed with pie.

Ingredients:

5-6 large apples, peeled and sliced

Dried cranberries (as much or as little as you want)

Agave

Pie Crust (for the top and the bottom)

 

Sometimes I make my own pie crust. Other times I buy it. If you buy it just roll out the pie crusts.  The photo above is with crust I bought, I was too tired to go through making crust, but I’ll do that for Thanksgiving and Christmas.

When I make crust from scratch I use the Cuisinart Pie Crust Recipe which is high on butter. It’s really good and a deadly treat. When I use that pie crust, I brush the top with a little bit of milk and lightly sprinkle some sugar on it. It’s like a sugar cookie on top when it comes out of the oven.  That’s what Cuisinart says to to, so I blame the bad health choice of that pie crust on them.  

I throw the diced up apples and cranberries in a bowl and mix them together. I drizzle agave over it and mix it in. Agave is like honey with a low glycemic load and super sweet.  It’s not perfect, some people say it’s bad too.  Oh well, it’s pie!  I have no idea how much I put in, maybe two to three tablespoons (?). I don’t measure, I just eyeball it.

Roll out one crust into the pie plate. Fill with the apple-cranberry-agave sweetness. Put the pie cover on and seal with fingers and a fork. Cut some air holes in the top.  

I have learned that you put a pie plate on a cookie sheet in the oven. Sometimes the apples bubble over and then your oven is a disaster. The cookie sheet is insurance against this.

Bake in the oven at 350° Fahrenheit for about an hour. I check it at 30-45-60 minutes. Remove when the apples are bubbling and hot piping. You can also put foil around the edges of the pie crust for the first ¾ of cooking so they don’t burn and then pull off the foil at the end. I only need to do this when I make my own crust.

Let it sit for about 45 minutes before cutting into it to eat the pie. This is the hardest part.

 

We are having fun with our CSA adventures. You have no idea what’ll come in the bag each week and then you just have to cook!  

 

Leave a Reply

